

MEDIA CONTACT:

Kristina LeVan, Wisconsin Department of Tourism 608-266-0458; klevan@travelwisconsin.com

Lisa Marshall, Wisconsin Department of Tourism 608-267-3773; lmarshall@travelwisconsin.com

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Frank Lloyd Wright Trail Opens for the Season with Trail Dedication Ceremony at SC Johnson

Self-guided trail has drawn international attention since opening last fall

MADISON, Wis. (May 10, 2017) – Wisconsin Governor Scott Walker, Tourism Secretary Stephanie Klett and SC Johnson Chairman and CEO Fisk Johnson gathered at SC Johnson headquarters in Racine today for the ribbon-cutting ceremony of the Frank Lloyd Wright Trail, the approximately 200-mile route through southern Wisconsin featuring the architecture of Wisconsin-native Frank Lloyd Wright.

The Frank Lloyd Wright Trail, which was established last fall takes travelers on a self-guided architectural tour of nine buildings spread across nine counties, from private houses to public buildings. Many of the sites were closed for the winter season and today's ribbon-cutting ceremony highlights the opening of the sites for the summer travel season.



"We're excited to celebrate the dedication and official opening of the Frank Lloyd Wright Trail here today at SC Johnson, which is home to two of the trail stops," Governor Walker said. "Our tourism industry has come together to create this trail to honor Frank Lloyd Wright's legacy and highlight some of his amazing creations right here in Wisconsin. Lovers of architecture and nature alike are sure to enjoy this spectacular trail, and we invite travelers from far and wide to put the Frank Lloyd Wright Trail on their bucket list this year."

According to Frank Lloyd Wright Wisconsin, Inc., Wisconsin is home to more than 40 Wright-designed sites, 11 of which are open to the public.

"Since the legislation passed and the first Frank Lloyd Wright Trail markers when up last fall, Wright's architecture in Wisconsin has caught the attention of the national and international media," said Secretary Klett. "It's generated an exciting amount of buzz for these Wright-designed buildings and we

anticipate even more press coverage coinciding with the 150 th birthday of Frank Lloyd Wright on June 8."

In 2016, legislation was passed to designate and post signage for the following nine Frank Lloyd Wright sites:

- SC Johnson Administration Building, Racine
- SC Johnson Research Tower, Racine
- Wingspread, Racine
- Burnham American System Built Homes, Milwaukee
- Monona Terrace Community and Convention Center, Madison
- First Unitarian Society Meeting House, Madison
- Taliesin and the Frank Lloyd Wright Visitor Center, Spring Green
- Wyoming Valley School Cultural Arts Center, Spring Green,
- AD German Warehouse, Richland Center

The trail signage includes large freeway guide signs, route marker signs and directional and trailblazer signs located in Richland, Sauk, Iowa, Dane, Jefferson, Milwaukee, Racine and Kenosha counties.

The mission of the Wisconsin Department of Tourism is to market the state as the Midwest's premier travel destination for fun by executing industry-leading marketing programs and establishing strategic partnerships. The Department plays a significant role in generating greater economic impact and jobs for Wisconsin. The portal for traveler information can be found at www.travelwisconsin.com.

